A Thought for Today

Even with the best intentions of making heaven on Earth, radicalism only succeeds in making it a hell – that hell which man alone prepares for his fellow men.

– Karl Popper

So far, it’s been a tough week. And it’s only Thursday today. *Crying*

There’s a silly twitch in my eye that refuses to go away. There are just too many mosquitoes. My stupid sensitive skin’s gone red because of some godforsaken allergy. And companies have started coming to college for recruitments.

Well, at least the weather’s good.

*This is me trying to not crib/complain*

Now, you know I love the rain. I’m all for dancing in the rain and splashing in the puddles. It’s the ensuing inundation that I dislike. After all, it isn’t very tempting to wade through a mix of mud, plastic discards, dead leaves and water. Sounds messy, right? You should smell it.

See one bad thing about monsoon is mosquitoes. Dear mosquito, I’m cool with you sucking my blood. But why would you want to inject me with deadly viruses is beyond me. You won’t get any blood if I die. Why can’t your tiny brain get this?

Half the country’s down with fever, not even exaggerating. Of course the government’s too busy to de-silt sewers. Perhaps the chief minister’s got his own whooping cough to take care of. Who knows?

But Monsoon’s fun, a savage mix of sugar and spice. One careless step, and you’ll be devoured by human-sucking-sewers because here in this country we don’t like to put lids on manholes. You see, we’re hardcore. You do know how to swim, right?

Why the urban planners would ignore to build proper drainage systems and sewers is beyond me. And I’ll never understand the government’s inability to get rain-proof roads built. I’m sure the technology’s been developed, right? Hello globalisation, where are you? We need your help.

Enough of Monsoon bashing. Let’s move on, shall we? The list’s long.

While in the metro, a lady elbowed me in the stomach. It wasn’t her fault though- we were space-starved to the extent that even a teensy fly couldn’t enter the stupid compartment.

Then I got off the train and was busy texting… it was then that I crashed into the signboard. You can feel the bumps if you run your fingers through my head. Yes, yes. Lesson learnt.

Tell you what, mad rain coupled with a 2-day rickshaw strike isn’t a healthy mix.I’m glad I wore shoes to college today. At least my feet didn’t get all muddy and squishy.

Do you see how wild my week’s been? *I’m crying*

Here’s a picture from today. The stupid phone camera couldn’t capture rain. I think iPhone’s overrated, huh. 

IMG_2300 2
I think I’m going to miss college after all!

On my college:

It’s been a roller coaster ride… well I haven’t left the rollercoaster yet, but it’s only now that I’ve realised what a huge part LSR has played in my life. It’s made me, me. And I’m so glad it did. Right now, I’m at my best. I’ve never been better.

Although I’m a little pissed because my wallet was stolen today. I am skeptical of the kind of values LSR is imparting to its students. Hmm.

So what made you, you? Do you/will you miss the institutions you’ve/you’ll left/leave behind? And how’s your week been so far?

Oh and about the quote- I just posted it because I really liked it. Did you like it?

Also, I’m sorry for this stupid random post. I’m too busy to write something worthwhile. Do you feel me?


©All Rights Reserved 

28 thoughts on “A Thought for Today

    1. Aw thanks! I make sure to wear mosquito repellent cream :p
      And it’s pretty dry and hot here in New Delhi all the time, it’s just that we are getting above average rainfall here this year. Might as well enjoy till rains last :p

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Summer has finally arrived (again!) after several cool, rainy days here on our Wet Coast – my week is going well but I failed to write a paragraph or two for my blog and now must wing it! Your post made me smile and now I don’t feel so bad. I hope your week improves, I love the quote and your lovely photo!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love your writing, casual, direct, with feelings, and information.
    I propose: A COMMON POST; Choose a paint image or picture in my blog (or ask me a picture on the subject you want. You write the text accompanying the image.
    We post it, at the same time on our two blogs with our 2 names.
    ok friend?

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hi, thank you for your kind words. I’m glad you’re able yo make some sense out of this babble :p
      And that’s a brilliant idea! It’ll be fun to do a collaborative post. But I’m a little busy with college work these days, do you mind taking this up on a weekend? Maybe the weekend after this one? Let me know! ❤

      And thanks once again!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

