Life Lesson 101

635902026958586720-523516567_lifeisgood cover photo
Image Source: Google Images

I know, I admit it. I’ve been neglecting my blog. I haven’t been reading your lovely posts, haven’t been posting anything. I’m sorry.

I got reasons to explain my absence though. Bear with me, please? I haven’t been in the best of my spirits lately. I haven’t lived up to my best image, I haven’t been the best version of myself. I haven’t been taking care of my health. I haven’t been a good friend, haven’t been a good daughter. Heck, I haven’t been a good person. This last month was wild, and I let myself down. That I failed to embrace positivity is an understatement. I, in fact, have been systematically shedding it from my life.

Err, that’s a lot of have-nots.

My grandfather had two heart attacks inside of 15 days and had to undergo an emergency heart surgery. I was mad because I couldn’t help him. A childhood friend lost her father. I was mad because I couldn’t make her feel better. I neglected my own health because I was too sad to exercise and eat healthy, no kidding. I got accepted into the Harvard Peek Program, but decided not to go for it. Then later I was mad at myself because I let go of such a brilliant opportunity. Ain’t I stupid?

I think I caused a rift between two friends, got yelled at for attempting damage control. So I was mad at myself for trying. I was so angry with myself that I refused to study. 3 weeks and I didn’t touch a book. I was so busy being sad, how could I make time for books?

Yes, I’ve had a mad, rough few days.

But it’s a bad phase, not a bad life.

They say bad times teach resilience. Well, it’s true.


Now I’m no Tibetan Monk. I don’t have sagely mantras to offer to you. But here are some lessons I’ve learnt. It’s something we all know—we just need a reminder from time to time.

Don’t be hard on yourself

Really, it’s no good. Stretching yourself too far will only break your spring. Instead, push yourself slowly. An inch at a time. It’ll take a while, but you’ll reach the terminus without breaking your back. And if not, then remember that you don’t have to excel at everything, okay? Mediocrity is not always bad. Find yourself a different path.

Timing is NOT everything

They teach you that opportunity knocks only once. That’s a big, fat lie (Tell me who’s spreading these lies, she needs a thrashing). If you let an opportunity pass you by, worry not. You have your whole life ahead of you, countless opportunities will knock at your door. You’re competent, you’re strong. You’ll net them. If life gave us only one chance we’d go to our graves as soon as we’re born.

Do NOT hate

Life’s too, too short to hate. Hatred will make your insides hollow, it’ll make you a bitter, jealous human. It’ll do you no good. Learn to love and forgive, learn to let go. You’ll be happier and merrier. Forgiving is not a sign of weakness. It’s a strength you must strive to posses.

There are things you can’t control

I struggle a lot with this one. There’s so much around us over which we have no control. You had plans for shopping but its 45 degrees outside? You’re mad but can you control the sun? No? Then get over it. Go shop another day. You can’t control weather, people, death or traffic. Put on a smile, be brave and let it go.

Grow and evolve

You’ll lose if you don’t evolve. Darwin’s Natural selection, ding ding! Let your heart, mind, soul grow and flourish. It’s hard to get out of your comfort zone and challenge yourself, but it’s worth every effort. A static mind will creep you and eat you alive. So let it blossom, let yourself blossom. Keep making advances, one at a time. Identify areas where you need to make changes and then work systematically to achieve your ideals. Expand your comfort zone.

Stop giving excuses

So you’re dissatisfied with your life? Who’s stopping you from making changes? You want to exercise more? Then exercise more. You want to eat healthy? Then do it. You want to go out more? Then go out more. Take charge now. It’s your life and only you can tract it! Push yourself to the edge and then make a leap. The wind will charge your body.

You’ll find peace

It may sound impossible right now. But if you show enough determination and resilience, you’ll soon clear the mess around you. You’ll disentangle one net at a time and slowly free yourself. It’ll take a week, a month, or a year— but you’ll find peace. Things may not make sense right now, but they’ll all fall into place. Do your part and then let life work its miracles.

Find reasons to be positive

It’s difficult when you’re stuck in a bad phase. But positivity is perhaps the only thing that’ll help you recover and build yourself again. You’re your person, never forget that. Things may be bad right now, but it will get better. It always does. So find that positive ray of light and keep it close to your heart. The dark clouds will make way for sunlight. Exude positivity and watch good things come to you.

Do NOT judge

This is a no-brainer. Everybody—your friends, your foes, your family, people on the streets—is fighting their own battles. You do not know which war they’re waging, what’s causing them to be mad and angry. Be patient, be accepting. They’re your people. Do not judge and make monsters out of people in your head. They’re as confused, sad, mad, angry & puzzled as you are.

Well that’s it for now. But as you might have guessed, this list is by no means exhaustive. Maybe you can add to it? Let’s see if we can make it more comprehensive! As for me, I hope I act over this wisdom and not come across as a hypocrite. Pardon me if I do, I’m only human!


©All Rights Reserved 

43 thoughts on “Life Lesson 101

  1. Nice post …sometimes we have to be quiet in our mind to get the lessons on how to live a profiting life…some experiences are needful most times to bring us to full maturity… but we must learn to know when it is time to move on…we must learn to know, embrace and accept when we are in a new phase of our life…let love fill our heart , it will give us reasons to appreciate life.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. A manual would make it so, so easy. But as they say, experience is the best teacher. Bad time or good, it always passes and make way for something new.

      And of course, my new favourite quote says it the best- “Tough times don’t last, tough people do!”

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m glad I stopped by today to read your words, I’m making my way through the “beautiful mess” that is my life, feeling like flotsam floating on a big wave and there you were, with your hand held out! I’m glad that you and your grandfather are doing well – thank you again for the recent “likes” and I’m looking forward to reading more!!

    Like

  3. Life is filled with hills and valleys, my husband had to have heart surgery a year ago and is still recovering. It was a time of great stress so I completely understand. I am glad you’re back and wish you nothing but the best.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You are human……..we all have times when we could kick ourselves over something done, not done, forgotten, misunderstood or what we see as personal failure. You are not alone, you are not a bad person, you are not failing anyone. You are you – and you are special…..give yourself a hug!! Then start again.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I missed reading your blogs glad yours was the first post i got to read after my return 🙂 I too felt a bit low reading about your rough days but again they’re only to remind one that things are gonna get better 😊🌸
    By the way, ‘don’t hate’ and ‘stop giving excuses’ were the parts when i thought someone who knows my situation is talking to me haha. Loved it, like always❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww you’re very kind! Thank you, I’m glad there’s someone out there who can relate to my posts!

      Oh and about the don’t hate and excuses part, you’ll learn. We’ll all learn! ❤️
      I haven’t met you in person, but I get the feeling that you are a beautiful person ❤️ I wish you all the love and happiness in the world! 🙂

      Like

  6. I’ve been there, and I am sure you’ll survive these tough times too! Because from your post, I can tell you have a grip on the positive strength of your soul. My prayers are with you and keep fighting, because we are warriors and that’s what we do. Cheers ☺️👍👍

    Liked by 1 person

  7. It turn out to be sad in the beginning, but the way you needed your post on a positive note is very uplifting.
    I’m sorry to hear about your sad times. It’s alright to be away from blog if your days aren’t going good. I hope for your better days and health. Keep smiling!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Excellent post! You really don’t have to apologize for not posting! It’s great when you do ☺ You’ve obviously been going through a lot… it’s true…it may feel horrible during tough times but we can’t deny that it brings loads of lessons and growth with it, even if we don’t want to acknowledge it at that time…

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Sorry you’ve had a rough few days but you are absolutely right, it’s just a phase. Hope you find your positivity. When I’m at my worst I try to force myself into the “yes” woman. I stop thinking about whether I want to accept invitations or proposals and just say yes because I too, have lost out on opportunities I shouldn’t have let go while in low points of life. Next time you’re there, don’t say no to anything reasonable and safe… if you had a Harvard opportunity and the door shut, a window to something maybe even more wonderful must have just opened for you somewhere right? Just have to find that window…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

